Libertarian Wing of the Libertarian Party Endorses, Funds Radical Candidates for Office

Arlington, VA – The Libertarian Party Radical Caucus (LPRC), known as the “libertarian wing of the Libertarian Party”, announced today its endorsement of 19 candidates running for office on the Libertarian Party ticket during the 2016 election cycle. 

The endorsed candidates are seeking positions at the local, state, and federal level. All were vetted by a subcommittee within the LPRC based on an analysis of their platform, positions, and anticipated policies. This process was designed to ascertain if their campaigns reflect core libertarian values as articulated in the LPRC’s own Platform and Mission.

The LPRC was formed in 2006 by a core group of dedicated activists whose mission was to ensure the Libertarian Party remains true to its ideological foundation. At the core of the LPRC’s ideals is the Statement of Principles, authored by LP Founding Member and first Presidential Candidate, Dr. John Hospers, during the 1972 Libertarian National Convention. 

Earlier this year, the LPRC formally adopted its own bylaws and platform before taking an active role at the 2016 Libertarian National Convention in Orlando. One of their many undertakings in the time since the Convention was to solicit, vet, and endorse Libertarian Party candidates, who are as follows:

• Erin Adams, State House, District 33, Oklahoma
• Phillip Anderson, US Senate, Wisconsin
• Tom Bagwell, US House, District 12, Michigan
• Jeffrey Blunt, US House, District 20, Texas
• Chris Cole, State Senate, District 41, North Carolina
• Paotie Dawson, State House, District 18, Colorado
• Jocelyn Fry, State House, District 35, Iowa
• R. Jim Fulner, County Commissioner, District 19, Michigan
• Jeff Hetrick, US House, District 11, New Jersey
• John Jascob, Regent, University of Michigan
• Richard Longstreth, US House, District 2, Colorado
• Sean O’Toole, State Treasurer, Missouri
• Tyler Palmer, State House, District 93, Michigan
• Clark Patterson, US House, District 17, Texas
• Pete Rorhman, Bergen County Freeholder, New Jersey
• Steve Scheetz, US House, District 8, Pennsylvania
• Mike Seebeck, State House, District 21, Colorado
• Nick Serianni, State Senate, District 6, Iowa
• Mark West, US House, District 1, Arkansas

Endorsed candidates who are current members of the LPRC were also entitled to an even disbursement of the funds in the LPRC’s Treasury earmarked for campaigns. The LPRC’s treasury is a combination of membership dues and donations. In accordance with their bylaws, 75% of the funds acquired by the LPRC are to be used specifically to assist candidates for office. During the 2016 Election Cycle, the LPRC was able to disburse $2208.71 amongst the designated candidates. 

For more information visit the Libertarian Party Radical Caucus website or contact Kim Ruff, Secretary, at [email protected]

View the official Press Release here.